Day 48 – Weston Super Mare to Lympsham

Distance:14,9

Steps: 16,949

What an exciting day we’ve had today.

Up at 08:00 and our breakfasts for free . The manager gave Jezabel a complimentary voucher on account of the drinking glasses being dirty. We robbed the breakfast bar and took a couple of bags of cakes over to the homeless people living in tents across the way

The Met Office forecast for Weston Super Mare was grim, 80% chance of heavy rain all day. In dry conditions we set out for the railway station

We rode the rails just one stop to Milton, then a ten minute dash to the (awesome) Helicopter Museum. I could have stayed all day and will definitely return with Paul

Our route to Lympsham was pretty well a straight line 180 degrees south. We reached Oldmixon just as dusk began to fall and our planed route took us over Hay Wood Hill and I could see no reason to vary from the plan

Bat calamity struck. About 100m from the top, the path became very muddy and steep. Jezabel was in 4×4 mode using her poles but I was still on my back legs and very soon on my backside. I also otcovered in mud. It took me over an hour to travel 5 metres during which time l repeatedly slid backwards down the slimy mud slope.

We stuck to footways thereafter and arrived at the Hobb’s Boat Premier Inn in good time for supper

The kill

Leave a comment