Day 012 – Barrow-in-Furness to Ulverston

Distance: 16.7 km

Steps: 30,491

Blooming horseflies! There are thousands of them about. I was proper bitten by one of them yesterday and this morning I have a lunp rhe size of a tennis ball on the side of ny neck. A trip to the pharmacist indicated ‘non drowsy” Piriton, so I’ve dosed up amd on ny way

To be honest, I’m not sorry to be leaving Barrow. The people have without exceptoon been nice and friendly but the environment of the town is grim. It has the feel of a giant factoy around which a town has grown. Which I suppose is exactly what it is. Somebody said to me that the town council sporadically brighten up an area but then then leave it, hoping that it will look after itsellf. Which leads to many half-hearted, scruffy, unfinished areas. I have noticed an almost complete absence of litter bins.

I headed for Roa Island. planning to sample the ferry boat to Piel island and lunch at the Bosun’s Locker

I took a look at the new hunter killer submarine

Not a lot to see really. It is moored at the far end of a secure dock and most of it of course is under water

“Around the back of Morrison’s “ Jon had directed me. “You’ll feel like you’re passing through some derelict industrial wasteland”. That was certainly true!

The crew of a large ship, moored alongside the quayside were carrying out a fire drill which involved a great deal of running about and shouting on the ship’s tannoy.

I’m a fairly slow walker. A guy overtook me, pretty girlfriend on his arm. Wearing shorts and with sleeves rolled up it was plain to see that he had a lot of tattos.

I was particularly struck by the tattoo on the back of his shaved head. I caught them up and taking courage in both hands I asked if I culd take a photo of the back of his head. “Nobody’s ever asked me that before” he said (“They were probably too scared” I thought, though did not say). I took the photo and sent it to Jack.

The horseflies were at their most aggressive on the path outside the gas terminal. I went on the offensive and covered myself in jungle strength bug repellent roll-on. It worked, no more trouble from horseflies, though I did smell like a leaky petrol pump.

I reached Roa Island by midday and headed straight for the Bosun’s Locker for lunch. The only way on to the island is via a causeway, a 1 km road in summer but the waves crash over it in winter. Today there’s a fierce wind that nearly blows me off my feet.

Bosun’s Locker is popular café on Roa Island

Roa is a tiny island. I guess there can only be a poulation of a couple of dozen, tops. On which basis the whole lot of them were in the Bosun’s Locker for lunch.

Customer service could be summed up as ‘innattentive’ and I was sharply reprimanded for sitting at a table that was ‘reserved’ I was instructed to wait over by the door whilst the manager lady checked if they could fit me in. When I finally did sit down to order, the man on the next table was accused of moving a chair!

The food however was first class and plenty of it 😊

Coastal erosion has taken its toll on the RNLI facility on Roa Island, the aproach gangway has had to be significantly extended to reach the land.

You can reach Piel Islandbfor £6 by ferry

Piel Island is even smaller. The only people who live thee are the pub licensee and his wife The ferry to Piel Island was not runing when I visited Roa, due to strong winds.

I camped out in the basher at the Gibraltar Farm campsite at Silvedale. Neil and Andrea were incredibly kind and allowed me to stay for free, even lending me a clean towel. Eee, luxury…