All These Legs

Every journey, however great or however small, begins with one step. Cue the meaningful orchestral music for this rather obvious statement. But it surprises me how many people don’t take that one step

My current journeys is about 4,000 km, which I have broken into numbern of ‘legs’. ‘Bike-size chunks‘ we used to call them. Each leg is segregated from it’s neighbour by some logical definition but the criteria are all different and very pragmatic:

Leg 1 – Jezabel accompanied me on this initial jolly. Starting North of the Border in Gretna Green and following the Cumbruian coastline past the begining of Wainwright’s ‘Coast to Coast’. We went as far as Ravenglass, skirting the western edge of the Lake District. That’s Jezabel in the photo below, taking an early morning dip in Wastwater.

Leg 2 – I walked this leg solo, doubling back just 12 km at the start in order to camp by the packhorse bridge at Drigg. I then walked on to Barrow-in-Furness and further to Morecambe. I took this photo of a seal, stranded by the fast receding tide at Morecambe Bay.

Leg 3 – The start of this leg, from Morecambe to Preston has been slightly delayed by the train drivers’ industrial action. God willing, I’ll be back in Morecambe this Friday morning. I’m looking forward to a brief nautical adventure at Fleetwood, then meeting Molly at Blackpool Pleasure Beach. We’ll walk together to Preston.

Molly is a big roller coaster fan

Leg 4 – The Liverpool Leg. I’ve never been to Liverpool, so this should be interesting.

Leg 5 – Wallasey Island to Prestatyn

Leg 6 – Offa’s Dyke

If you’d like to donate a few quid to Parkinson’s UK to support what I’m doing, please click on the link below 😘

One thought on “All These Legs

Leave a comment