Day 35 – Montgomery to Brompton Bridge

Distance: 18.4 km

Steps: 30,254

Whoa ! You say. No way is it 18 km from Montgomery to Brompton Bridge! Well, it is the route I took šŸ˜œ !

I though that Iā€™d done my research. I found the bus stop, checked both the time and the route. I had checked everything with three bus drivers and I was pretty confident that the 07:48 T12 would take me to Monthomery. But it was not to beā€¦

The driver of the T12 was as helpful as could be but Montgomery was simply not on his route ā€œJump aboatdā€ he said ā€œIā€™ll drop you off as close as I canā€. So he stopped at some anonymous junction (with no bus stop) saying ā€œMontgomery is two or three miles that wayā€ and he was gone.

I soon found out that the bus driverā€™s idea of a diret route was incompatible with a walkerā€™s expeience. The road had no footway and was narrow, fast and busy, not just with cars but tractors and trucks too. I spent most of my time in the hedge.

In order to remain alive, I abandoned the road in favour of a field of sheep. I zigzagged a collection of rarely used footpaths and arrived in Montgomery at midday, late but still alive. I never did get to the bottom of the T12 mystery and in fact a T12 passed me in Montgomery as I sat outside the Spar eating my lunch. I then went to investigate the Dragon Hotel (yes, they have a swimming pool)

ā€¦and the castle

I finally left Montgomery about 3:30pm and made my way, via Brompton Bridge to Shirley Heights, my accommodation for the night. Offaā€™s Dyke is very apparent on the left of the path

Hereā€™s the Parkinsonā€™s link šŸ˜œ

https://www.justgiving.com/fundraising/sebastians-swagger

Leave a comment