Day 36 – Shirley Heights to Llanfair Waterdine

Distance: 7.4 km walked

Steps: 13,519

I had breakfast this morning with Graham and Margaret from Surbiton (what a lovely couple). We all set out together, then at the Offa’s Dyke path, they turned north and I continued south. Graham and Margaret have a level 8 km ahead of them commencing with the old petrol pumps outside of the famous Blue Bell Hotel. Then they go up in the world

My southbound path rose steeply from Drewin Farm. And how steep too. I was struggling. I always knew that today would be the most challenging day but this was only the first of five big hills. I reached ‘The Crow’s Nest’ (353 metres). Terrific view across the Vale of Montgomery.

The longest stretch of Offa’s Dyke that I have seen so far, runs up the right hand side of this field

Up and over the top of the hill and I went down the other side to a dried up stream bed. During the descent I talked myself into lunch and a nap 🫠

It was apperent that today was not going to be the day to attempt another four hills like the last one. I was definitely running out of steam. Edenhope Farm was shown on the map about 1 km to the east. It started to rain. I decided to see if anyone there felt like rescuing a wobbly old bloke who’d run out of steam

And along came Anthony (whose mum owns Drewin Farm). His dog jumped in the back and I jumped in the front of his truck. Anthony handed me over to James who runs the Crown in Newcastle (the pub was shut for ceiling repairs). Beer festival this weekend. James handed me over to another James, who added a pint of bitter and a bag of crisps to the equation. James (2) handed me over to Nicola, who fixed it with Jane, then carried my bag over to Jonathan’s car. Jonathan drove me (by a series of tiny roads) to Dyllis’s house. Dyllis booked me in for a meal and Iorwerth drove me ro the pub. Where I sit now, writing this blog

Eat your hearts out Tracey family, Mid-Wales Rescue does it much better!

So, THANK YOU everybody 👍

If you’d like to make a donation to Parkinson’s UK, here’s the link:

https://www.justgiving.com/fundraising/sebastians-swagger

One thought on “Day 36 – Shirley Heights to Llanfair Waterdine

  1. Hi Graeme and Margaret. Great to meet you both. I hope Graeme found the rusty petrol pumps. Thank you for your donation to Parkinson’s UK. Very kind of you. I trust you enjoyed then 360 degree views in the Clwd Hills, well worth the struggle I thought. I’ll be on the South West Coast Path next summer. Perhaps our paths might cross again 😜

    Like

Leave a comment