Day 37 – Llanfair Waterdine to Knighton

Distance: 7.7 km

Sreps: 13,341

I stayed last night with Dyllis and Iorwerth Waters who live just up the road from Everest Hall, so named because John Hunt, the man who organised the 1953 ascent of Everest, came from this village.

I popped into the Castle Inn to return the torch they kindly loaned me last night to walk home after dark. Then on to Knighton.

Knighton is a bustling metropolis. It has a leisure centre, a railway station, a weekly cattle market, several cafes, three restaurants and half a dozen pubs. Molly is joining me this weekend and we’ll be walking Kingtown to Hay-on-Wye tomorrow.

I arrived in Knighton before midday and I have spent the aftenoon checking out the shops/restaurants and locating the bus stop for tomorrow morning. Molly’s ETA is 7:15pm this evening

This remarkable building is the former Barclays Bank

The ladies at the Offa’s Dyke Association centre do an excellent cheese scone!

These two fellows were hiding behind the shops

We stayed at the Horse & Jockey in Knighton. Where the Ladies and Gents toilets were identified by these signs. I have nevr seen anything like it!

🥁🥁🥁NEW AUTHOR ALERT 🛎🛎🛎

Please note that for the next three days, I am priviledged to be able to have secured the services of famous international DJ, Molly Mouse

Leave a comment